Culinary History – The Culinary Cellar http://theculinarycellar.com Thousands of cookbooks. One passionate collector. Sun, 01 Dec 2019 22:03:20 -0800 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.3 48512596 Vintage Cookbooks from Mississippi http://theculinarycellar.com/vintage-cookbooks-from-mississippi/ http://theculinarycellar.com/vintage-cookbooks-from-mississippi/#comments Mon, 02 Dec 2019 11:00:42 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=24256 I hit the vintage cookbook jackpot at a darling store in Jackson, Mississippi, along with some local food products.

The post Vintage Cookbooks from Mississippi appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/vintage-cookbooks-from-mississippi/feed/ 9 24256
Sphere and Cuisine http://theculinarycellar.com/sphere-and-cuisine/ http://theculinarycellar.com/sphere-and-cuisine/#comments Tue, 05 Nov 2019 11:00:07 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=24156 To me the best vintage food magazines are Sphere, from 1972-1978, and Cuisine from 1979 to 1984.

The post Sphere and Cuisine appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/sphere-and-cuisine/feed/ 8 24156
Food Fit for the King http://theculinarycellar.com/food-fit-for-the-king/ http://theculinarycellar.com/food-fit-for-the-king/#comments Fri, 16 Aug 2019 10:00:47 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=23580 The King of Rock ‘n Roll certainly loved his food, especially traditional Southern cooking. Read on and see what Elvis loved.

The post Food Fit for the King appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/food-fit-for-the-king/feed/ 1 23580
New Heights for Lasagne http://theculinarycellar.com/new-heights-for-lasagne/ http://theculinarycellar.com/new-heights-for-lasagne/#respond Fri, 09 Aug 2019 20:33:53 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=23542 How do you make lasagne? Let us count the ways!

The post New Heights for Lasagne appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/new-heights-for-lasagne/feed/ 0 23542
Recipes and Crafts for Fund-Raising Activities http://theculinarycellar.com/recipes-and-crafts-for-fund-raising-activities/ http://theculinarycellar.com/recipes-and-crafts-for-fund-raising-activities/#comments Fri, 02 Aug 2019 09:00:01 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=23408 Fund-raising ideas for fairs, bazaars, parties, and suppers also with ideas for themes and games. Another from the great Ann Seranne.

The post Recipes and Crafts for Fund-Raising Activities appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/recipes-and-crafts-for-fund-raising-activities/feed/ 3 23408
Winning Dishes http://theculinarycellar.com/winning-dishes/ http://theculinarycellar.com/winning-dishes/#respond Mon, 22 Jul 2019 09:00:45 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=23427 “Winning Dishes” is the perfect title for Veronica Callaghan’s amazing recipes and photos. She also sent me some incredible cookbooks!

The post Winning Dishes appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/winning-dishes/feed/ 0 23427
The American Gothic Cookbook http://theculinarycellar.com/the-american-gothic-cookbook/ http://theculinarycellar.com/the-american-gothic-cookbook/#comments Wed, 10 Jul 2019 09:00:20 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=23308 One of my favorite artists is Grant Wood, from Iowa. The American Gothic Cookbook offers recipes from the Heartland.

The post The American Gothic Cookbook appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/the-american-gothic-cookbook/feed/ 8 23308
Francesco Ghedini Classic http://theculinarycellar.com/francesco-ghedini-classic/ http://theculinarycellar.com/francesco-ghedini-classic/#comments Wed, 03 Jul 2019 09:00:00 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=23135 I decided to write about another Italian cookbook, this time the cooking exclusively from Northern Italy.

The post Francesco Ghedini Classic appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/francesco-ghedini-classic/feed/ 2 23135