Vintage recipes – The Culinary Cellar http://theculinarycellar.com Thousands of cookbooks. One passionate collector. Fri, 06 Dec 2019 04:33:05 -0800 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.3 48512596 Persimmon Steamed Pudding http://theculinarycellar.com/persimmon-steamed-pudding/ http://theculinarycellar.com/persimmon-steamed-pudding/#respond Fri, 06 Dec 2019 10:00:05 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=22061 Steamed Puddings are fun to make and a unique dessert to offer during the holidays. This one is made with persimmons and served with a delicious hard sauce.

The post Persimmon Steamed Pudding appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/persimmon-steamed-pudding/feed/ 0 22061
Vintage Cookbooks from Mississippi http://theculinarycellar.com/vintage-cookbooks-from-mississippi/ http://theculinarycellar.com/vintage-cookbooks-from-mississippi/#comments Mon, 02 Dec 2019 11:00:42 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=24256 I hit the vintage cookbook jackpot at a darling store in Jackson, Mississippi, along with some local food products.

The post Vintage Cookbooks from Mississippi appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/vintage-cookbooks-from-mississippi/feed/ 9 24256
Treasured Recipes Reminder http://theculinarycellar.com/treasured-recipes-reminder/ http://theculinarycellar.com/treasured-recipes-reminder/#comments Sun, 01 Dec 2019 11:00:59 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=24242 ‘Tis the season to make sure treasured family recipes are written down for future generations.

The post Treasured Recipes Reminder appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/treasured-recipes-reminder/feed/ 6 24242
Sphere and Cuisine http://theculinarycellar.com/sphere-and-cuisine/ http://theculinarycellar.com/sphere-and-cuisine/#comments Tue, 05 Nov 2019 11:00:07 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=24156 To me the best vintage food magazines are Sphere, from 1972-1978, and Cuisine from 1979 to 1984.

The post Sphere and Cuisine appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/sphere-and-cuisine/feed/ 8 24156
Alabama Cooks! http://theculinarycellar.com/alabama-cooks/ http://theculinarycellar.com/alabama-cooks/#comments Mon, 07 Oct 2019 10:00:17 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=23970 Southern appetizer cheese wafers with pecan halves taste great with white wine! Recipe from an Alabama cookbook sent by a reader.

The post Alabama Cooks! appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/alabama-cooks/feed/ 4 23970
Food Fit for the King http://theculinarycellar.com/food-fit-for-the-king/ http://theculinarycellar.com/food-fit-for-the-king/#comments Fri, 16 Aug 2019 10:00:47 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=23580 The King of Rock ‘n Roll certainly loved his food, especially traditional Southern cooking. Read on and see what Elvis loved.

The post Food Fit for the King appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/food-fit-for-the-king/feed/ 1 23580
Country Fair Cookbook http://theculinarycellar.com/country-fair-cookbook/ http://theculinarycellar.com/country-fair-cookbook/#comments Mon, 12 Aug 2019 10:00:49 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=23521 It’s State Fair time all over the country! Come and meet an incredible winner from my home state of Illinois.

The post Country Fair Cookbook appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/country-fair-cookbook/feed/ 4 23521
Recipes and Crafts for Fund-Raising Activities http://theculinarycellar.com/recipes-and-crafts-for-fund-raising-activities/ http://theculinarycellar.com/recipes-and-crafts-for-fund-raising-activities/#comments Fri, 02 Aug 2019 09:00:01 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=23408 Fund-raising ideas for fairs, bazaars, parties, and suppers also with ideas for themes and games. Another from the great Ann Seranne.

The post Recipes and Crafts for Fund-Raising Activities appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/recipes-and-crafts-for-fund-raising-activities/feed/ 3 23408