Vintage recipes – The Culinary Cellar http://theculinarycellar.com Thousands of cookbooks. One passionate collector. Fri, 20 Apr 2018 03:31:50 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.9.5 48512596 Sphere Magazine, April 1976 http://theculinarycellar.com/sphere-magazine-april-1976/ http://theculinarycellar.com/sphere-magazine-april-1976/#comments Fri, 06 Apr 2018 09:00:26 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=20348 This issue of vintage Sphere magazine fed into my obsession of old-fashioned steamed puddings. Read how to make this incredible Steamed Marmalade Pudding!

The post Sphere Magazine, April 1976 appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/sphere-magazine-april-1976/feed/ 17 20348
National Banana Bread Day http://theculinarycellar.com/national-banana-bread-day/ http://theculinarycellar.com/national-banana-bread-day/#comments Fri, 23 Feb 2018 10:00:28 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=20041 To celebrate National Banana Bread Day, here is an old recipe from Helen Johnson Vanni, my mother-in-law.

The post National Banana Bread Day appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/national-banana-bread-day/feed/ 4 20041
Cookbooks From My Yooper Cousin http://theculinarycellar.com/cookbooks-yooper-cousin/ http://theculinarycellar.com/cookbooks-yooper-cousin/#comments Wed, 21 Feb 2018 10:00:24 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=20192 Don’t know what a Yooper is? Don’t worry, it’s a good thing! This Yooper gave me cookbooks with great recipes, including molasses sticky buns!

The post Cookbooks From My Yooper Cousin appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/cookbooks-yooper-cousin/feed/ 3 20192
Happy 8th Birthday to The Culinary Cellar! http://theculinarycellar.com/happy-8th-birthday-culinary-cellar/ http://theculinarycellar.com/happy-8th-birthday-culinary-cellar/#comments Wed, 31 Jan 2018 11:04:25 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=19959 Thank you to all my readers for keeping up the past eight years!

The post Happy 8th Birthday to The Culinary Cellar! appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/happy-8th-birthday-culinary-cellar/feed/ 8 19959
Sphere Magazine November 1975 http://theculinarycellar.com/sphere-magazine-november-1975/ http://theculinarycellar.com/sphere-magazine-november-1975/#comments Mon, 27 Nov 2017 23:33:42 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=19714 This unusual dessert from 1975 features Shredded Wheat cereal and reminiscent of a baklava honey-nut texture and flavor.

The post Sphere Magazine November 1975 appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/sphere-magazine-november-1975/feed/ 6 19714
Swedish Pancakes with Lingonberries http://theculinarycellar.com/swedish-pancakes-lingonberries/ http://theculinarycellar.com/swedish-pancakes-lingonberries/#comments Sun, 17 Sep 2017 16:14:15 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=19336 These Swedish Pancakes have been a favorite of my husband since he was a child, and still a favorite Sunday breakfast today.

The post Swedish Pancakes with Lingonberries appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/swedish-pancakes-lingonberries/feed/ 3 19336
Nurse Helen and Her Recipes http://theculinarycellar.com/nurse-helen-recipes/ http://theculinarycellar.com/nurse-helen-recipes/#comments Sun, 13 Aug 2017 21:46:35 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=18924 The joy of cooking brings people together across generations, and then one day something lands on your kitchen table and that bond becomes forever.

The post Nurse Helen and Her Recipes appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/nurse-helen-recipes/feed/ 30 18924
Glazed Ham Balls http://theculinarycellar.com/glazed-ham-balls/ http://theculinarycellar.com/glazed-ham-balls/#comments Wed, 26 Apr 2017 09:00:56 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=18411 Time to dig up an old ’50’s recipe from my card catalog in the Culinary Cellar using leftover ham. My grandma used to make these!

The post Glazed Ham Balls appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/glazed-ham-balls/feed/ 6 18411