Vintage recipes – The Culinary Cellar http://theculinarycellar.com Thousands of cookbooks. One passionate collector. Wed, 08 Jan 2020 09:20:34 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=5.3.2 48512596 The Hot Brown http://theculinarycellar.com/the-hot-brown/ http://theculinarycellar.com/the-hot-brown/#respond Wed, 08 Jan 2020 13:00:36 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=24348 An Italian version of Louisville’s Legendary Open-Faced Sandwich called the Hot Brown.

The post The Hot Brown appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/the-hot-brown/feed/ 0 24348
The Best Fried Chicken in Mississippi http://theculinarycellar.com/the-best-fried-chicken-in-mississippi/ http://theculinarycellar.com/the-best-fried-chicken-in-mississippi/#comments Mon, 06 Jan 2020 13:00:19 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=24323 Did I say the best fried chicken in Mississippi? How about the best in the whole country? I mean, world…

The post The Best Fried Chicken in Mississippi appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/the-best-fried-chicken-in-mississippi/feed/ 2 24323
Harvey Wallbanger Cake http://theculinarycellar.com/harvey-wallbanger-cake/ http://theculinarycellar.com/harvey-wallbanger-cake/#respond Wed, 01 Jan 2020 11:00:19 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=24392 The classic boozy Harvey Wallbanger Cake fits right into the New Year celebration.

The post Harvey Wallbanger Cake appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/harvey-wallbanger-cake/feed/ 0 24392
Persimmon Steamed Pudding http://theculinarycellar.com/persimmon-steamed-pudding/ http://theculinarycellar.com/persimmon-steamed-pudding/#respond Fri, 06 Dec 2019 10:00:05 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=22061 Steamed Puddings are fun to make and a unique dessert to offer during the holidays. This one is made with persimmons and served with a delicious hard sauce.

The post Persimmon Steamed Pudding appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/persimmon-steamed-pudding/feed/ 0 22061
Vintage Cookbooks from Mississippi http://theculinarycellar.com/vintage-cookbooks-from-mississippi/ http://theculinarycellar.com/vintage-cookbooks-from-mississippi/#comments Mon, 02 Dec 2019 11:00:42 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=24256 I hit the vintage cookbook jackpot at a darling store in Jackson, Mississippi, along with some local food products.

The post Vintage Cookbooks from Mississippi appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/vintage-cookbooks-from-mississippi/feed/ 9 24256
Treasured Recipes Reminder http://theculinarycellar.com/treasured-recipes-reminder/ http://theculinarycellar.com/treasured-recipes-reminder/#comments Sun, 01 Dec 2019 11:00:59 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=24242 ‘Tis the season to make sure treasured family recipes are written down for future generations.

The post Treasured Recipes Reminder appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/treasured-recipes-reminder/feed/ 6 24242
Sphere and Cuisine http://theculinarycellar.com/sphere-and-cuisine/ http://theculinarycellar.com/sphere-and-cuisine/#comments Tue, 05 Nov 2019 11:00:07 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=24156 To me the best vintage food magazines are Sphere, from 1972-1978, and Cuisine from 1979 to 1984.

The post Sphere and Cuisine appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/sphere-and-cuisine/feed/ 8 24156
Alabama Cooks! http://theculinarycellar.com/alabama-cooks/ http://theculinarycellar.com/alabama-cooks/#comments Mon, 07 Oct 2019 10:00:17 +0000 http://theculinarycellar.com/?p=23970 Southern appetizer cheese wafers with pecan halves taste great with white wine! Recipe from an Alabama cookbook sent by a reader.

The post Alabama Cooks! appeared first on The Culinary Cellar.

]]>
http://theculinarycellar.com/alabama-cooks/feed/ 4 23970